46. Point proven!

Long time no type!

I’ve been interning with the Oregon Bach Festival this summer, and today I was out to lunch with my boss. We restaurant-hopped. Sy’s New York Pizza followed by Milky Way.

This was my first time eating at Sy’s…and I’m glad. If I’d known about it sooner, I’d probably be 10 pounds heavier. It was DELICIOUS. They zap your slice in the oven and as soon as it’s done, it’s basically in your hands (and mouth). Nice and hot with perfectly thin crust. With my boss being a New Jersey native and pizza fan, I followed his recommendations. Plain cheese slice with some oregano sprinkled on top. Perfection! I’ll definitely be going back.

A hop, skip and a jump away was Milky Way! My turn to be the expert. My boss had never had bubble tea, so I advised plain milk tea with tapioca. I went for my current favorite – taro milk tea. I also learned today that you can sample flavors before ordering! Who would have know.

My boss is ridiculously busy, so I took this one-on-one time to pick his brain a little about marketing and job searching. We eventually got onto the topic of the importance of keeping some sort of blog or showing that you have knowledge of the internet and social media. I was instantly reminded of this poor, neglected blog. My boss encouraged me to get back to updating here, reminding me that I don’t have to write novel-length posts (which I tend to do…). I was also reminded of the time I visited Wieden+Kennedy. An employee told us that she was hired because of her cooking blog! Only partially joking, she said that when she was called back for her interview, the interviewers were so excited and intrigued by this cooking blog of hers that. Not only did it show that she had an interest outside of work, but that she had the persistence and drive to regularly update it.

I told my boss what I’d learned in my ad classes about showing an interest in something makes you interesting and memorable. My point was proven when he said it was like my “boy-band blog,” which was a reference to some posts I’ve done on this site about Korean boy bands. It made me smile, seeing as that was a post I used as I writing sample back in March when I first applied for the internship! We hadn’t talked about it since my interview, and yet he remembered.

It just goes to show you the importance of being interested and interesting! Here’s to getting back to updating my blog, even if it’s only a few sentences about something fun 😀

Leave a Reply

